Skip Navigation Linkshome > JournalDetails

Proceedings of the Indian National Science Academy


The National Institute of Sciences of India, now the Indian National Science Academy, was inaugurated on 7 January 1935 at Calcutta and commissioned its journal, Proceedings of the National Institute of Sciences of India, in the same year for publishing articles from all branches of Science including Mathematics. As the number of accepted papers increased, the journal was bifurcated in 1955 into two parts - Part A (Physical Sciences) and Part B (Biological Sciences). When the National Institute of Sciences of India was renamed as Indian National Science Academy in 1970, the journal became Proceedings of the Indian National Science Academy. It continued to be published in two parts with six issues each in a calendar year. In 1997, the Academy decided to publish only review articles of contemporary scientific interest, evaluating advances and newer approaches in the given field. The emphasis thus shifted from being a vehicle of original research reports into one of reviews, and comprehensive summary reports on chosen topics. Thus from the beginning of January 1998, the Proceedings brought out thematic issues containing invited reviews on current scientific topics. Beginning from the year 2006, the Academy merged the Parts A and B so that each issue of the Proceedings is inter-disciplinary and covers areas under Physical, Biological and Applied Sciences, including Engineering. Four issues are brought out in the months of March, June, September and December each year. The Proceedings now includes Reviews, Original Research Articles, Commentaries/Opinion, Meeting Reports, Book-Reviews, Academy News etc. Reviews and Research papers in Physics, Chemical Sciences, Earth & Planetary Sciences, Engineering & Technology, Material Sciences & Engineering, Plant Sciences, Animal Sciences, Microbiology & Immunology, Cell & Biomolecular Sciences, Health Sciences, Agricultural Sciences are considered for publication. In addition to the regular issues, Special Issues or Sections on thematic topics are also periodically published. All issues are fully Open Access. All articles, including those invited, are peer-reviewed.

Fellows of the Academy and others are welcome to contribute to the Proceedings. Online submission and manuscript tracking are available at Please see the Instructions to Authors for submitting manuscripts.

Editorial Board


SC Lakhotia, Cytogenetics Laboratory, Department of Zoology, Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi;

Sectional Editors:

Mathematical Sciences: IBS Passi, Indian Institute ofScience Education and Research, Mohali;

Physics: Sanjay Puri, School of Physical Sciences, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi;

Chemical Sciences: Anunay Samanta, School of Chemistry, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad;

Earth & Planetary Sciences: AK Singhvi, AMOPH Division, Physical ResearchLaboratory, Navrangpura, Ahmedabad;

Engineering & Technology: Suman Chakraborty, Indian Institute of Technology-Kharagpur, Kharagpur;

Material Sciences & Engineering: CS Sundar, Material Science Group, Indira Gandhi Centre for Atomic Research, Kalpakkam;

Plant Sciences: AN Lahiri Majumdar, Division of Plant Biology, Bose Institute, Kolkata;

Animal Sciences: BA Shanbhag, Formerly, Department of Marine Biology, Karnatak University Post Graduate Centre, Karwar, Karnataka;

Microbiology & Immunology: Dipankar Chatterji, Molecular Biophysics Unit, Indian Institute of Sciences, Bengaluru;

Cell & Biomolecular Sciences: SK Dhar, Special Centre for Molecular Medicine,Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi;

Health Sciences: Madhubala Rentala, School of Life Sciences, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi;

Agricultural Sciences: R Khanna Chopra, Stress Physiology & Biochemistry Laboratory, Water Technology Centre, Indian Agricultural Research Institute (IARI), New Delhi; 

Editorial Board Members:

SK Apte, Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, Mumbai;

US Bhalla, National Centre for Biological Sciences, Bengaluru;

HS Balyan, Department of Genetics & Plant Breeding, Chaudhary Charan Singh University,Meerut;

DM Banerjee, Department of Geology, University of Delhi;

AK Jain, CSIR-Central Building Research Institute, Roorkee;

Amalendu Chandra, Department of Chemistry, Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur;

Sudip Chattopadhyay, Department of Biotechnology, National Institute of Technology, Durgapur;

Debashish Chowdhury, Department of Physics, Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur;

PK Das, CSIR-Indian Institute of Chemical Biology, Kolkata;

Anuradha Dube, Division of Parasitology, CSIR-Central ug Research Institute, Lucknow;

JH Hacker (Germany), President, German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina;

Thomas Kailath (USA), Information Systems Laboratory, Department of Electrical Engineering,Stanford;

PV Kamat (USA), Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, 223B Radiation Laboratory, University of Notre Dame, Notre Dame;

Santosh Kapuria, Department of Applied Mechanics, Indian Institute of Technology Delhi;

P Kondaiah, Department of Molecular Reproduction, Development and Genetics, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru;

Deepak Mathur, Atomic and Molecular Sciences, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai;

Sanjay Mittal, Department of Aerospace Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur, Kanpur;

 K Muniyappa, Department of Biochemistry, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru;

 S Natarajan, Solid State and Structural Chemistry Unit, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru;

 AJ Paulraj (USA), Department of Electrical Engineering, Stanford University, Stanford;

 Upaasta Ramamurty, Department of Materials Engineering, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru;

 EV Sampathkumaran, Department of Condensed Matter Physics and Materials Science, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai;

Yadvinder Singh, Department of Soil Science, Punjab Agricultural University, Ludhiana;

R Sowdhamini, National Centre for Biological Sciences, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Bengaluru;

Mriganka Sur(USA), Simons Centre for the Social Brain, Department of Brain and Cognitive Sciences, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge;

K Veluthambi, School of Biotechnology, Madurai Kamaraj University, Madurai;

Anindita Bhadra, Department of Biological Sciences, Indian Institute of Science Education and Research Kolkata;

Suryasarathi Bose, Materials Engineering Department, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru;

Deepak Sharma, Department of Biotechnology, Indian Institute of Technology, Roorkee;

Current Volume

Other Journals

Journals Instruction

Ahead of Print